The Senior High had 2 teams from Green Wave Robotics compete in the Minnesota State VRC VEX tournament on February 29 th and March 1 st in St. Cloud, MN.

9821A, SynthWave, members are Seniors Jeb Haaven-Farstad, Lexi Bergeron, Juniors Luke Massmann and Sebastian Olson. SynthWave allianced with a team from Adams, MN and made it to the semi-finals where they were defeated 103-95. They ended the tournament with a 7-4 record. All semi-finalists brought home State Trophies. SynthWave also placed 4 th in the State in the Skills Competition with a score of 348. They are currently ranked 160 th out 6,349 ranked teams in the world. Their ranking at State qualified them for an invitation to Worlds. VEX Worlds is a 9-day tournament with 2200 teams from around the world competing at different levels. SynthWave will be competing with 800 team in Dallas, TX 4/25/24-4/27/24.

Team 9821D, Zero Bend, also competed at State alongside and against SynthWave. Their members are Junior Nolan Blair, Freshman Abby Zejdlik, Tucker Arens and 8 th Grader Aliyah Baez. Zero bend was eliminated in the quarterfinals by SynthWave with a score of 105-115. They ended the tournament with an 8-2 record. Zero Bend finished the Skills competition in 11 th place with a score of 307 points.

We also had a middle school team from Green Wave Robotics Compete in the Minnesota State VRCIQ VEX Middle School Tournament on March 2 nd . 9821H, Humburger, members are 7 th Graders Andrew Cassanili, Asher Blair, Kylan Driscoll and Zoe Baez. Humburger ended the tournament ranked 9 th in skill with a total score of 97. They allianced with a team from Hallock, MN and ended the tournament in 4 th place with a score of 83. Humburger did win the Design Award at State. The Design Award recognizes a team's ability to document and explain their Engineering Design Process via an Engineering Notebook and Team Interview.

Thea Haaven-Farstad, the Middle School Director and Head Coach was awarded Mentor of the year at the middle school tournament. Thea’s commitment, dedication to our students and her willingness to help other schools with their programs is what earned her this award.

9821A members Luke Massman, Alexis Bergeron, Jeb Haaven-Farstad, & Sebastian Olson

9821D members Abby Zejdlik, Aliyah Baez, Tucker Arens, & Nolan Blair

9821H Members Andrew Cassanili, Asher Blair, Kylan Driscoll & Zoe Baez.

Middle School Director and Coach Thea Haaven-Farstad